Event Calendar
Prev MonthPrev Month Next MonthNext Month
Action Research SIG Dissertation of the Year Award Nominations Deadline December 1
Friday, December 01, 2023, 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST
Category: Events

The AERA Action Research SIG is currently seeking nominations for the 2024 Dissertation of the Year Award. 

Description of the Award:This award will be presented to a graduate student who submits a summary report of their action-research-based dissertation research that meets the criteria below and best exemplifies the principles of Action Research and/or that advances best research practices.  

Eligibility Criteria: 

a)  The applicant does not need to be a member of AERA 

b)  The applicant does not need to be a member of the Action Research SIG 

c)  The dissertation defense must be complete and have been completed within the past2years. (2021-2022; 2022-2023) 

d)  The applicant must submit a maximum ten-page summary report of their dissertation highlighting the action research focus of their dissertation.  

Nomination Process and Timeline: 

a)  Please email nominations to the SIG Chair, Liz Azukas, at[email protected] and include: 

  • student name
  • student email
  • institution
  • title of dissertation
b)  Self-nominations will be accepted 

c)  The SIG will follow up to request the 10-page summary report. 

Deadline for nominations:December 1, 2023 

Paper Review and Award Process:An awards committee will create a rubric and review all nominations. Composition of the Award Committee:  A chair or co-chairs, and other members as necessary to create the rubric and collect the papers, and distribute to the reviewers; as well as, members to serve as reviewers.  The committee will be comprised of a minimum of three members, and no more than five, to be determined by the Chair and/or Co-Chair (as appointed by the Chair of the SIG). Members of the committee will be active members of the AR SIG. They can be teachers, practitioners, and/or academics.  

The winner of the Best Dissertation Award will be announced in February and honored at the annual AERA conference in April 2024.